Luzhi Old Town
Situated 25 kilometers southeast from Suzhou,
Jiangsu Province, Luzhi Town was praised as the No.1
town of Chinese Watery Regions by Fei Xiaotong, vice
president of the Standing Committee of the National
People's Congress. Because Lu Qiumeng, a poet named
Fu Li in the Tang Dynasty (618-907), once lived there
in seclusion, it was called Songjiang Fuli in ancient
times. The town was renamed as Luzhi in the Ming Dynasty
(1368-1644), after Luduan, a mysterious unicorn, which
was believed to have the power of warding off evils.
Luzhi is gifted with favorable terrain and
outstanding people. It faces the Wusong River to the
north and the Chenghu Lake to the south, and borders
on Kunshan City to the east, and Suzhou to the west.
Today's Luzhi teems with lakes, rivers and bridges,
luring numerous visitors with its beautiful scenery.
Luzhi has been reputed as A Land of Bridges
for long. It is amazing to see so many famous small
bridges span the 5.6-kilometer-long river course. In
its prime it had 72.5 bridges, and now 41 remain extant.
Large stone bridges with several arches, small stone
bridges with only one arch, wide arch bridges, narrow
flat-top bridges, sister bridges and so on. All theses
bridges make Luzhi quite special as a town in watery
The famous Baosheng Temple is located in
the west of Luzhi. It is recorded that the temple was
constructed in 503. Having a history of more than 1,480
years, it is an ancient temple in areas south of the
lower reaches of the Yangtze River. With an area of
over 100 mu,5,000 rooms and 1,000 monks in its early
days, the temple attracted a great number of worshippers
and pilgrims. Today we can still see its large scale
from the remains. Beside its large scale, the sculpture
in the temple also is also known far and wide.
The tomb of Mr. Fu Li is in the west yard
of the temple, with the Douya Pond in front. The Qingfeng
Pavilion stands in the center of the pond. There are
also stone bridges and ginkgos of thousands of years
old in the temple.